Tweet Tweet! Why I love Twitter

Twitter

As you may or may not know, I have a Twitter account. I fell for the concept of Twitter months ago, despite the paucity of people I know that use it. It's a 'microblogging site,' which is a very similar concept to AIM or Facebook statuses. You post little 140 character entries about what you are up to at the moment. While Facebook does accomplish the same thing, there are things I like a little better. 

Facebook tries to do too much.

Every day there seems to be another random application or feature that Facebook is throwing out at us. And every couple months they decide to rearrange the entire layout of the site, confusing and annoying the masses. I feel like because Facebook has so much to offer, it does a lot of things half ass. Twitter has one thing and it does it very well. 

Facebook has too many people I don't care about.

Yeah, oh what's her face that I met at a party 2 years ago is in Ohio this weekend….great? Yeah, I don't care. On Twitter I follow only people I care about- there is less of a "I must friend every person I've ever exchanged names with' kind of vibe. 

It's not just college kids

Yeah, Facebook lets everyone join now, but once you're out of college I think it loses it's luster. I'm a senior and it already kind of has. So it's a good way to stay in touch with people without staying in touch with the 'what's her faces' you probably want to forget about :P 

Variety is the spice of life!

You can update and view tweets from the web, a downloadable application that kind of looks like an AIM client (I recommend Twhirl), text message!!, or my personal favorite: the Twitter application on Firefox. The firefox app is great because it's tiny and when people tweet you get a little pop up (similar to g-chat) that doesn't mess up what you're doing. You can get updates on what people are doing in real time, and you don't have to point your browser to the main site if you don't want to. 

Follow me on Twitter

Yeah yeah, you can't escape my little personal publicity. Like I said, I love Twitter, but I really don't know that many people on it. It's my dream for this to blow up, so check my site out, and try it out for yourself: LINK, CLICK ME :D 
Leave a Reply

