Compulsions

Nametag

The other day before my movie started I had the strangest urge. I had just bought my ticket and was making my way toward the 'ticket tearer dude' (Can we just take a moment and think about how cool of a job that would be? Who doesn't love ripping stuff? And getting paid to rip stuff….wow!). I tend to be awkward with people serving me in general, whether they be people cutting my hair at the salon or serving me at a restaurant. Like, I don't really want to talk to them, but I don't want to be a bitch who seems superior and silent because they are providing me with a service. Usually this inner battle ends up with me avoiding eye contact and playing with my hands or random scraps of randomness that have ended up in my jacket pockets over the last week or so. 

Anyway back to the story, so in my awkwardness after handing the guy the ticket I just look for something to distract me. My subconscious chose his lapel, and immediately targeted his Marquee name tag which labeled this man as 'Brian.' I know a lot of Brians I guess: 1 brother, 2 ex-flames, 5 Facebook friends. I only mention this because I'm searching for an explanation of what happened next. 

So Brian hands me back half of the ticket, my trophy. And all of a sudden my head snaps up and I say in my most cheerful, flirtatious voice, "Thanks Brian." At just about that time, the better half of my brain turns back on and the adrenaline propels me toward the nearest exit in the dark labyrinth of movie theater entrances. I make a shy glance back and notice that this guy is staring at me and laughing to himself and my movie companion. 

I don't know why I did it. But, between this and the incident with the waitor a week ago, I'm thinking that there is some flirty Karen who is really dying to get out and make a fool out of me. 
2 responses to “Compulsions

  1. I greatly enjoyed this entry and laughed really hard.

  2. Haha, thanks. I feel like you’ve been around for a lot of my random
    flirtations so you know what i mean! I’m just glad the concession stand
    creeper from last summer has been MIA.

Leave a Reply

