Friday Night at White Dog

WhiteDogCafe-LCarswell-2_U
Hello gentleviewers, first off I would like to welcome you all. I've noticed that my number of page views has really increased lately, which warms my heart. Keep the subscriptions and comments coming guys. I love to hear from you, and I usually comment back. 

You know how I joked about going to bars in a sweater in my last post? Well, that's exactly what I did last night. I was in total hibernation mode: PJ pants, Penn hoodie, no bra, What Not to Wear illuminating my TV. I was fully reclined, ready for a night of relaxation when I got a text summoning me to White Dog for drinks. In almost all cases, I would have ignored this siren call, but it was a friend I haven't seen since winter break. We've had so many missed connections this month that I was afraid that pretty soon I would be off the invite list all together. So I sucked it up, put on my sweater and khakis, and walked the 8 or so blocks to White Dog. 

Something great about that place is that it feels so homey. I could imagining this bar being in some weird kind of alcoholic grandma's living room if such a thing existed. Moreover, they had a whole collection of hot apple cider drinks served in a fancy glass with a cinnamon rim. It was a very soothing drink compared to the night before. It was also the type of place you could actually have a conversation at. Unfortunately, I was too tired to actively participate in said conversation but I appreciated the opportunity. The bar tenders were older men, which I actually liked. I felt like they really took care of me. 

As for my personal challenge, I'm doing ok, but really starting to crave fast food. I feel like everything I've made myself tastes so bland. Either home made food is always bland or I suck at cooking. I'm pretty sure it's the latter. I need to get some better stuff. I had pasta last night which was satisfying, by my chicken today was blah. Help?!
One response to “Friday Night at White Dog

  1. Haha, I’ve never been to that bar but it sounds fun.
    I know what you mean about feeling like the invites might stop coming if you don’t go out once in awhile with that person. I’ve been such a homebody lately, and not really cared about it, but I’m scared that the invites will stop coming soon 😦

Leave a Reply

