Vommiting Information

Confusion_11
The more information I hear about grad school the more confused I get. I really don't know how to arrive at a decision that I am totally comfy with and know that I won't have any regrets. I made some pro/con lists and the answer is inconclusive. It made my gut feel kind of shaky, like it had reached a decision and had the rug pulled out from underneath it. Pro/Con lists really show you the lay of the land. It made me focus on all the good things of the former reject and just get confused anew. 

Sigh? Yes, Sigh. 

This decision is making me try to figure out who I am and where I'm going and it hurts my head. I don't know what I want! 

City mouse or kind of country mouse?

brain or heart?

Help.

I officially have one more week to figure out my life. 
5 responses to “Vommiting Information

  1. Karen, you have the rest of your life to follow your heart. Follow your brain for grad school. Give yourself the best options for your future, so there will be more doors open to follow your heart through when you graduate. Grad school is a temporary condition…treat it like one, and make the decision that will make the most sense and set you up the best for the long run.
    But most importantly, make a decision and don’t look back. Once you pull the trigger, just put everything else out of your mind and be happy. That’s the best advice I can give you, hope it helps.

  2. Kern, I’ve known you for over 10 years, and I’m confident that you will make the best decision for you. The problem is actually making the decision and being okay with it! It’s scary to have to decide something that will affect your life so drastically for at least the next couple years. But as Jimmy said, grad school is temporary, so don’t fret so much over where (location wise) you end up. You may end up loving it…and if you hate it, well you can always move after you graduate. I’d focus more on the school and the program they offer, and put location as a secondary factor.
    I’m also starting to struggle with where I wanna go (if I don’t end up getting into med school), and it’s very “city mouse vs. country mouse”. Do I go back to WV and try to fit back into that world knowing that I’ve changed in the past 4 years…or do I stay in FL where I’m currently comfortable but kind of miss the life I left behind…or do I mix it up and go to NC for perhaps the best of both worlds but without the close ties I’d have in WV or FL? Sorry to turn this into being about me! But just know that I feel your pain!
    We just have to know that everything will work out. You and I know better than anyone what it’s like to take a risk and move to a brand new place. I still remember that day in Government when O’Connell asked if anyone was leaving the state after graduation and you and I were about the only ones to raise our hands. Think of how far we’ve come and the experience we’ve been allowed! The moral of this long story is that no matter what decision you make, I know you’ll make the most of it and succeed in everything you do! You’re my hero!!!! I love you!

  3. Thanks for the advice. While I agree with a lot of that, it’s still five years of my life. And I think happiness where I will be matters a lot too.
    And the heart and brain thing actually referred to research topic. But, i kinda like the accidental double meaning that happened there!

  4. Aww, thanks for the sweet comment and advice! I forgot all about that day in Government. You’re totally right. It makes the last four years seem like such a bigger deal. We went out in the world, got messy, and grew so far beyond what we could have if we stayed at WVU. We’ve come a long way since the day we were on the phone the day before high school started. We will have to celebrate when we’re both back in WV (I should be there most all of summer!)
    Good luck with your own decisions. It must really suck that you don’t even know fully what’s going to be in store for you next year. A lot of people graduating this year are in that position, unfortunately. But, I have faith everything is going to work out like it is supposed to. Just gotta believe!
    Love you!

  5. Kare Bear,
    I know you’re in a cross roads but from what I’ve heard you talking about these past couple of weeks, it seems like UVA is the fit for you. I think you would absolutely thrive in Charlottesville and its quaint, home-y feel. And to be honest, I’ve heard you talk more about UVA than any other school you visited!
    However, only you can make the decision and I know whatever you do, you’ll be AMAZING. Love you Big Big!!
    Ellen

Leave a Reply

