When Life Gives You Lemonade Flavored Beer….

This past weekend was my older brother's wedding. I traveled with my friend Billy (or Ben, or my 'boyfriend', whatever!) and my immediate family up to Dayton, Ohio to witness and celebrate the event. During the weekend I also lost my bridesmaid-inity and IKEA-inity, both of which are pretty exciting.

I can safely say after the wedding that I feel no where near ready to get married, myself. That was one freaky thing about witnessing my brother get married – he's only 4 years older than me. I couldn't help but imagine myself in this position in 4 years time. But perhaps until you REALLY fall in love with someone it is impossible to imagine yourself in this situation? That is one hypothesis. The other hypothesis is that I greatly enjoy so many freedoms that come with being single. For one, I want to live on my own as long as I can get away with it. I also greatly enjoy having a bed to myself to roll and kick around in at will.  But if we are getting technical this belief is probably just a coping mechanism and a product of the fact I haven't been in any 'good' relationships. Wow, being smart and over-analytical sure is fun…. And I guess, four years is still a longish time. Although, I won't even be done with next degree by then. 

I also imagined what I'd want my own wedding to be like, should the day come. And at this moment I'm not feeling traditional at all. A big part of me imagines I would like to just get married on my honeymoon and spend the wedding money on a really great trip (Also, I could really use a getaway right now…). Afterwards, maybe I'd have a shin dig where everyone gets drunk off cheap champagne (re: Andre) and dances to radio gems like the Ying Yang Twins, Kanye West, and Britney Spears (playing off an iTunes playlist, of course). 
034100728052
Speaking of lady alcohol, what else can you do after a wedding but drink into oblivion (yes, oblivion is an exaggeration)? You can't really get through one without some kind of emotional anomaly. So after the reception, Billy/Ben and I pulled up the nearest Walmart (conveniently across the street from the hotel) and bought a very adventurous six-pack of Leinenkugel Summer Shandy. It's a lemonade flavored beer, not lemon, lemonade! It was surprisingly refreshing. It tasted like all the good things about summer swirling around in my mouth simultaneously. I think I will look forward to it every year (like Sam Adams Oktoberfest). I recommend you check it out before the season ends. Life is too short to drink bad beer (Re: Milwaukee's Best, PBR, Natty…….). 
Leave a Reply

