Addiction

It started off like it always does. It was a social thing. I would be curled up on the couch watching gossip girl with my sorority sisters and one of them would ask if we wanted some. I didn’t want to feel left out. I craved the acceptance of the pack. I succumbed to this drug, thinking I was in control. One time wouldn’t hurt? After a couple times I promised myself that it was a social thing, nothing more. I could quit whenever I wanted to.

But pretty soon I was crawling upstairs to my friend’s room begging her to to join me in my shame. It got to the point that I had to have it every time I came home in the afternoon just to get through my day. Life seemed slow without it. The drug made my life more exciting.

I experimented with other forms…seeing how it changed my high. I turned to stronger and stronger concentrations…even stooping so low as to engage alone.

I’ve become what I never wanted to become. I need it to get through my day. My life – my mind – is slow without you, my precious.

I’ve tried turning to your less concentrated cold fizzy brethen, but they do not pack the same punch. Will I ever be free from your clutches?

I want my life back.

Damn you coffee….Damn you.

Yours,

Karen

One response to “Addiction

  1. Hey, you know what’s great for getting you off coffee?

    Cocaine.

    But uh…don’t do that.

Leave a Reply

