Karen Goes Domestic, Good Things Happen.

I almost feel like I’m writing to you as a different person. Remember how last Sunday I said that my weekend included cooking up a storm? Well, cooking (and consuming!) a week’s worth of healthy tasty herb-y meals had a bigger effect on how I feel than I imagined it would. I feel centered. I have more energy. My eyes don’t look quite as droopy and tired. I look a bit thinner due to decreased bloat. I feel great knowing that this is just the beginning of my journey and that as I transform my routines to include more healthy habits this feeling will only improve.

For breakfast I had a walnut bread that included a bunch of healthy swaps like wheat flour and yogurt instead of oils. It was surprisingly delicious and moist and kept me full til lunch (which is kind of a feat in itself). For lunch I had turkey burgers with red onion, cumin, cilantro, avocado, and salsa on a whole wheat bun. Cumin smells a little sketch, but they tasted good. My dinners included chicken seasoned with sage, rosemary, and orange zest and omelets with ham, cheese, and avocado. For snack time I made these cute mini pizzas on whole wheat pita with pesto, ricotta, mozzarella, and garlic. I feel like I became so domestic! And I saved money not eating out.

The next step is going to be adding the exercise, which has already been tricky. For one, I’m freaking busy. Grad school is a major time suck. I know that’s a bull shit excuse and I’m just going to have to figure out a way to add it to my routine. Despite the belief of most Americans, Exercise is a necessity for well-being and should be a priority just like eating, drinking, sleeping, and brushing your teeth. For two, with my recent asthma I’ve been a little afraid to start exercising and have been making excuses for myself. I’m usually fine inside, so I should try to start small and at least begin a healthy routine. It’s never going to get any easier. That’s my new mantra.

Leave a Reply

